Long overdue

It’s dreadful how long it’s been since I’ve posted anything here. Life has taken a very busy turn of late & I feel like I can’t keep up with it all. Funnily enough, life has a way of slowing things down for you. I took a spill a few days ago – a pretty spectacular one – and I’ve been trying to ice my hurt knees, chest & shoulder while still preparing for my Mom’s impending visit – an incompatible pair of objectives. Talk about lousy timing. Well, I was elevating my knees & complaining (I’m not a good patient) when my husband’s voice drifted in from the other room ‘You know you haven’t updated your blog in ages!’ I realized he was right, so whilst I am still immobilised, here it is.

I’ve been working on an Aran cardi for a while now, and since the weather has turned warmer, I feel a distinct lack of interest rising every time I take it out & work on it. It’s a temporary phase, and it will pass, but it’s slowed the forward momentum on this project considerably. Nope, sorry. Can’t share pics on this one yet, but I will in time.

I bought some lovely Isager wools a few months back & have been playing around with pattern ideas as I want to make it into a lightweight wrap. Isager has a few nice patterns along the lines I was thinking, but somehow, they seem a bit too reminiscent of fishing nets. I’d like this wrap to transcend seasons, and the fishing net look would really only be acceptable to me in summer.

I also got some Isager alpaca #1 – it’s amazingly soft, yet it doesn’t feel wimpy or fragile. That will become a lacy scarf later in the summer.

Both of my Isager purchases really impressed me. They’re very good quality fibers, but they’re so beautifully spun. The wool #1 is a single-ply lace wt. – I usually stay away from single plied yarns because I’m not terribly fond of felted garments, and all it takes is a small indiscretion on laundry day to make that happen. However, I just couldn’t resist it – it feels quite soft against the skin, with what I can only describe as a Shetland character – it’s got substance for its weight, and will not create an overly-drapy fabric. The spin is tight & amazingly even – no slubbiness at ALL. I haven’t swatched either yarn yet, but I think I will love them.

I’ve been going a bit stir crazy while enduring enforced bouts of resting & icing my knees, so I’ve been reading lots of knitting books & magazines. Have you seen the latest Interweave? It’s better than most of their prior summer offerings, I think. The patterns are a bit more sophisticated than the usual tank tops & camis. Also the latest Rowan Magazine has a nice article about knitting outdoors that pokes around through history a bit – we tend to think of ‘knitting in public’ as a recent issue, but folks have been knitting in public since forever. There’s also an article with mini-interviews with recent Rowan Award recipients. I haven’t got a lot of respect for ‘haute couture’ these days, particularly where knits are concerned, but these up & coming students bear watching – Rowan has an uncanny talent for spotting & nurturing the knitting talents of tomorrow. I’ve also read a few books on traditional Aran & fair isle knitting, watched every movie on the house (not really), and started listening to the audio book of Julia Child’s “My Life in France” which has the unfortunate side-effect of making me unreasonably hungry. I dare you to hear about buerre noisette and shallots simmering at length and NOT get unreasonably hungry. I’ve developed an interest in Julia since seeing Julie & Julia. I didn’t care for Julie, but Julia stole the show (as I understand she did in real life, too).

I’ll leave you with a photo of my ever-present companion/shadow – he likes me being immobilised, I can tell.

6 thoughts on “Long overdue

  1. I understand the blog post deficiency. I really need to start posting again. Not sure why I stopped? Maybe it’s cause I discovered Twitter and Ravelry made a sufficient combination to allow me to slack off on my blog… lol.

    I’ve never heard of Isager yarn before! Where do you get it? Is it local to where you are?
    Looking forward to seeing what you do with that yarn. I love secret projects.
    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • Isager is from Denmark – the yarn line created by designer Marianne Isager. I got mine locally at Knitty City – they had a small selection, but enough to tempt me!

  2. Sorry to hear about your spill 😦 You’re right about how life has a way of slowing you down for you. Best take it easy, relax and enjoy the extra knitting time.. especially since that yarn looks incredibly yummy!

    I’ve heard of said Julia side effects… dare I give it a listen? hehe

  3. I’m sorry to read of your spill and poor knees. I can’t wait to see what you make out of that yummy yarn. Don’t eat too much & feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

